My Photo

I am an ardent blogger and a web enthusiast. My blogs include varied topics from the picturesque details of my travelogue to theology and worldly facts. My passions are reading English and Tamil classics, Management Topics, Playing Tennis and taking long walks. I live with my wife in Bangalore. Visit regularly my children in Michigan and Colorado to spend time with them and three grandsons. Please brief your opinions there in when you read my blog :-

Tuesday, November 06, 2012

Srimad Bhagavatam  Skanda 2 Chapter 7 (Part 3)
Avatars of Bhagavan(contd.)-17 to 24 'Manu, Dhanvantri, Parasurama, Sri Rama, Balarama, Krishna, Vedavyasa, Buddha' &' Kalki' (yet to happen)
( Source: Velukkudi Sri. Sri. Krishnan Swamy's writings in recent Tamil weekly Tuglak  - This would serve the limited purpose to read this chapter of Sacred Srimad Bhagavatham by those who don't know to read Tamil or don't get access to the related recent issues of the  Tamil weekly magazine 'Tuglak')
Bhagavan  incarnates as  Manu 14 times . The period of each Manu extended up to 71 'Chatur yugas' which gets a code name as a 'Manvantra'. Bhagavan appears as the first king of Manu dynasty and protects the people in the best manner, thus advocating the rule that a King's predominant duty and responsibility is to establish an orderly governance and to rule the country with equitable justice and taking good care of the subjects under his umbrella. 
The importance of good health needs no emphasis. It is just not adequate to talk about 'mukti' always. The state of health needs to be good and is very much necessary as a condition for offering prayers and to worship the Almighty in the best possible manner. Bhagavan incarnated as Dhanvantri in line with this philosophy and propagated world wide the  'Ayurveda Sastra'. Lord Dhanvantri  grants a long healthy life. A healthy life in the present life and blissful state in the life that follows after death is what Dhanvantri ensures people who worship him.
Parasurama, well known for his quick temper is the next avatar. Kings who tortured the subjects and who deviated from the first principle of good governance, received the axe of Parasurama. The axe of Parasurama is also known by the name 'Parasu'. Parasurama avatar is intended to eliminate those who added burden to the earth by their misdeeds.
Bhagavan incarnated as Sri Rama next which avatar exhibited virtues, grace and over flowing compassion to all alike. Sri Rama took the graceful hand of Sita in marriage. He also showed his affection to Guha, the hunter; Sugriva, the King of Monkey Clan; Vibhishana who belonged to Asura clan  and announced fondly in public that they were his brothers. 'Pitru-vakya-paripalanam', Eka-patni-vratham' - Sri Rama excelled in these two noble traits. Sri Rama is hailed as a 'Purushottama' for his exemplary conduct such as righteousness, adhering to truth always and for leading a virtuous life.

 Balarama as the elder brother and Krishna as the younger brother are the two more avatars when Bhagavan's  leela (play) came to full bloom. Krishna, as a playful child, mesmerised  Brindavan and its subjects, delighted Yasoda and Gopis alike. Krishna's period as a playful youth stands as a legacy for ever. A host of poems by Alwars and many sages in praise of Krishna stand as testimony for generations to come. Should we recognize the mystery or significance of each avatar, there is no need for us to take a rebitrth. Krishna performed many mischievous acts like uttering playful lies, stealing butter, drinking stealthily potful of milk, releasing the cows tied to the pillars, crying when tied to the posts, showing his love to the cowherds and cows, playing captivating tunes over the flute, performing 'rasa-leela' with the Gopis, lifting the Govardana mountain to mention a few. We can lift our soul to great heights by reading and hearing the amusing anecdotes of Krishna's period. When we think that he was tied to the pillar with ropes sometimes by Yasoda to prevent him from doing mischief, we can be rest assured that it would relieve us from the bundle of sins we happen to commit. Further Krishna's teachings in Bhagavad Gita pave ways for a righteous living and to attain mukti. Balarama always accompanied Krishna and took part in the acts played by Krishna.
The avatar 'Krishna Dwaipayana' alias Veda Vyasa makes us wonder whether it is a reincarnation of Krishna avatar. Veda Vyasa was born to Parasara and Satyavati. He made the demarkation of Vedic Scriputures into four groups namely Rig, Yajur, Sama and Atharvana Vedas. He also propagated Epics and Puranas to general public. Vyasa made the people to realize that the Vedas and Puranas are the means to realize the Almighty  to dispel ignorance and to know the facts of life and truth.
Buddha was the next avatar to follow. It was a period when some Asuras also learnt Vedas and in the name of Vedas committed wrong deeds and misled the public. Bhagavan appeared as the Buddha and preached against Vedas and coaxed them not to spend time in learning Vedas in order to wean them  from misusing Vedas and to mitigate the ill effects. He, by this novel mode, conquered the Asuras.
The next avatar is yet to take place. When adharma gains hand, Bhagavan will incarnate as the son of 'Vishnu Yashas' in a village called Chambalam and emerge on a white horse as 'KALKI' and go around the world. He will destroy the wicked, protect the righteous, establish truth and usher a new era 'Krita Yuga' after ending the prevailing Kali Yuga. 
Brahma concludes to Narada that there are so many avatars like the above where Bhagavan marvelled in his acts and established glory. He advised Narada to propagate the significance of avatars to the general public to enable them to dwell  in him and spread the bhakti cult. Brahma assures Narada that whoever reads or listens to these Chapters describing the 'Avatars of Bhagavan', will undoubtedly get relieved of their ignorance or ajnana, doubts and suspicions and attain ever lasting bhakti and ultimately mukti.

 We shall now march after hearing the 24 Avatars of Bhagavan enthused with a spirit of devotion and bhakti into the next Chapter of Srimad Bhagavatam.



Post a Comment

<< Home